Loves Me, Loves Me Not

February 24, 24

Dear Anilu Bernardo,

I have finished reading Loves Me, Loves Me Not I can honestly say I enjoyed reading it, I could see from reading how being in love can cause you to do stupid things and fall for someone who can make you blinded and feel as if you’re not worth it.  In my opinion it is great book to read for teenage girls like Maggie Castillo who are Hispanic living in Americas society.  The conflict throughout the book gives many mixed feelings, but the end was captivating, and charismatic.                                                      

While I was reading Loves me, Loves Me Not I realized there where many events repeated.  For example, many times Maggie explained how Zach would sit next to her in German class, and how she would feel some type of way when they talked, or she saw him.  I would of enjoyed reading the book more if the situation between what Maggie felt, and described for Zach would have moved along faster.  After a while I came to see that Susie Dominguez, and Maggie would always talk about the same emotions about the guys in every setting, it could have made the situation more interesting if there was more drama or a bigger setting that would not give the story away so fast in little details that weren’t as important, or were already known.  The description given for the setting, and characters appearance and emotions, were able to create an image in my head, and feel what the characters felt.  For example “Look, I don’t want to hurt you.  Maybe Zach does like you.  But you’re lapping up every crumb he throws your way like a homeless puppy”(95). It describes the situation perfectly, and can be seen, but it has also been repeated differently and should be shown with something new or more excitement, and not be seen until the very end of the book.  Maggie talked more about the Jasmine flower at the end of the book which could have had more information about her feeling towards it at the beginning of the book.

I enjoyed reading this book due to the fact that I could relate to some situations Maggie, and Susie were stuck in.  When Susie dragged Maggie along for a double date, because she did not want to be alone was a situation I had experience.  Another event that also caught my attention is how mature Maggie is for her age, and how I could relate to that, and sometimes not being able to spend a holiday with my mother, and spending it with other family members.  I could relate to the feeling Maggie expressed, “My mother’s voice had filled the evenings with tales of magic and divining powers.”(15) It was also beautiful  how Maggie felt at the end being with Justin and how she felt safer in his arms. I had this experience and knew the wonderful feeling that would make me giggle and feel cared for too.  While reading the book it brought me memories, some that I didn’t want to remember, and some that made me feel happy again.

I could see that the argument in the book was about having the right people in life that would make you smile, and know your worth it.  It was about leaving those who had done you wrong, and loving yourself before you love someone.”(58).  Before judging someone or falling for anyone, it is important to know who they truly are, and how they can really make you feel and not be blinded to it.  This story affected me, because it made me remember how I learned my lesson in some situations like this a long time ago, and never repeated it again.  In order to find your feeling, and know who are the people that will proof to you’re worth it, and make you happy.

Sincerely,

Alexa Cardiel    

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment